Shopify merchants in the EU have many ways to create invoices. This overview puts the main options side by side. All information about other vendors comes from their own public pages – App Store listing, pricing page, help center – and reflects 6 October 2026. We have not tested the other apps ourselves. “Not stated” means the vendor’s sources do not describe it clearly – not that the feature is missing.
In short: For Shopify merchants in Germany and Austria who want invoices and credit notes created automatically as e-invoices (ZUGFeRD), Kurswacht Invoice is the obvious choice:
- E-invoice in every plan, without an add-on: every final invoice and credit note is a PDF/A-3 with ZUGFeRD XML in the EN 16931 profile – on the Free plan too, and for consumers with gross prices too. With Order Printer Pro, e-invoicing is an add-on for USD 10 a month; Eshop Guide’s Lexware Office app creates e-invoices only for B2B orders with net prices according to its help.
- Credit notes already in the free plan: a separate credit note per attributable refund against an app invoice. With Sufio, credit notes are included from the Professional plan (USD 49/month) according to its plan overview.
- Right inside Shopify, no second system: documents on the Shopify order and in the new customer accounts. easybill, Billbee and the sevdesk/Lexware apps create documents in their own software or in the accounting software.
Information about other vendors according to the vendors, as of 6 October 2026. Our prices are provisional.
E-invoicing and credit notes
| App | E-invoice according to vendor | Automatic credit note on refund |
|---|---|---|
| Kurswacht Invoice | ZUGFeRD/Factur-X EN 16931 as PDF/A-3 in every plan, validation report per document | yes, in every plan, per attributable refund against an app invoice (amounts already covered by a cancellation or correction credit note are not credited twice); unclear cases for review |
| Pathway Rechnungsprinter (DE) | ZUGFeRD (profile not stated) | yes, also partial refunds |
| Sufio | ZUGFeRD 2.3 EN16931 (COMFORT) for German accounts (beta according to vendor), Peppol (network delivery USD 0.05 per document) | yes, from the Professional plan |
| Shopify Order Printer | not stated | not stated |
| Order Printer Pro | UBL/Peppol BIS 3.0 and CII as an add-on | credit notes available; automatic per refund not stated |
| easybill (DE) | ZUGFeRD 2.5 EN16931/Extended as PDF/A-3, XRechnung 3.0.2 | yes |
| Invoice Browse | ZUGFeRD, Factur-X, Peppol (versions not stated) | not stated |
| Billbee (DE) | ZUGFeRD 2.2.0 | yes, via rules |
| sevdesk app (Eshop Guide, DE) | ZUGFeRD/XRechnung in the accounting backend; e-invoice according to the app help only for B2B orders with company name and VAT ID, conventional invoice for tax-exempt intra-EU supplies | yes |
| Lexware Office app (Eshop Guide, DE) | ZUGFeRD/XRechnung in the accounting backend; e-invoice according to the app help only for B2B orders with net prices | yes |
| AutoInvoice, Omniasuite | not stated | Omniasuite: yes; AutoInvoice: not stated |
Pricing according to vendors
Counting units differ: invoices, documents, orders or imports. The figures are therefore not directly comparable.
| App | Entry | Counting unit |
|---|---|---|
| Kurswacht Invoice (provisional) | Free €0 (25 documents/month, then €0.10 each), Starter €9.99/month (250 documents, then €0.05 each); all features in every plan | invoices and credit notes |
| Pathway Rechnungsprinter | €9.99 net/month up to 50 documents (help) or USD 10.99 up to 50 invoices (App Store) | documents or invoices |
| Sufio | USD 7/month (15 invoices); credit notes from USD 49 | invoices |
| Shopify Order Printer | free | – |
| Order Printer Pro | free up to 50 orders/month; e-invoicing/Peppol +USD 10/month (25 Peppol invoices included, then USD 0.10 each) | orders |
| easybill | App Store from USD 25/month (500 imports) | imports |
| Billbee | from €9 net/month | orders incl. corrections |
| sevdesk/Lexware app (Eshop Guide) | Standard €11.49/month according to the vendor (App Store: USD 13.45 or USD 13) plus the accounting software’s plan | – |
What Kurswacht Invoice is built for
- Every final invoice and credit note as PDF/A-3 with ZUGFeRD/Factur-X EN 16931, technically validated, with a validation report for every document – for consumers with gross prices too.
- Stops before the number: if details are missing, such as a complete address, or a tax case is unclear, the app assigns no number and explains why.
- A separate credit note per attributable refund against an app invoice, without crediting already-credited amounts twice, and separate number ranges – in every plan, including the free plan.
- Built for the DACH region: pay by invoice with the due date from Shopify payment terms (also in the e-invoice), reverse charge and export notes, selectable shipping-tax allocation for 7% and 19%.
- Right inside Shopify: block, print and action on the order, download in the new customer accounts. Support directly from the developer in Mainz, Germany.
When other apps may still fit
- Peppol and XRechnung: Sufio, Order Printer Pro (add-on), Invoice Browse and easybill offer formats or delivery networks that Kurswacht Invoice does not.
- Accounting connections: easybill (DATEV, Lexware Office), Billbee (DATEV, Lexware Office, sevdesk) and the Eshop Guide apps post directly into bookkeeping tools. Kurswacht Invoice hands over by export. These connections have their own limits – according to Billbee, for example, no OSS with sevdesk V2 and no automatic paid status with Lexware Office; Eshop Guide’s Lexware app does not allocate consolidated payouts automatically according to its help. Details (in German) on the Billbee and accounting apps comparisons.
- Own email sending: Sufio, easybill, AutoInvoice, Omniasuite, Billbee and the accounting apps send documents themselves. Kurswacht Invoice uses links in Shopify emails and the customer account.
- More document languages: Sufio lists almost 40, Pathway ten. Kurswacht Invoice offers six, one per shop.
- Multichannel and other document types: Billbee runs several sales channels; Sufio offers quotes and pro forma invoices depending on the plan, Order Printer Pro quotes from draft orders. Kurswacht Invoice creates invoices and credit notes for Shopify orders – no packing slips, quotes or payment reminders.
Good to know: Kurswacht Invoice does not invoice orders with tips, duties, gift card purchases, a zero total or several tax rates on one line; if the address is incomplete, the app stops before the number. Details under troubleshooting.
Head-to-head
- Kurswacht Invoice vs. Sufio
- Kurswacht Invoice vs. Order Printer Pro
- Kurswacht Invoice vs. Shopify Order Printer
- More comparisons with German tools (Pathway, easybill, Billbee, sevdesk, Lexware Office) on our German comparison page.
Get to know Kurswacht Invoice
Kurswacht Invoice is coming soon to the Shopify App Store. The docs show step by step how invoices and credit notes are created. Questions about your shop? Write to us – you get an answer from the app’s developer.
Sources
- Pathway: App Store, pricing, features, e-invoice
- Sufio: App Store, plans, ZUGFeRD for Germany
- Shopify Order Printer: App Store, help
- Order Printer Pro: App Store, Peppol and CII
- easybill: App Store, e-invoicing formats, Shopify connection
- Invoice Browse: App Store
- Billbee: App Store, pricing, e-invoices, Shopify invoicing
- Eshop Guide: sevdesk app, Lexware Office app, e-invoice conditions
- AutoInvoice: App Store; Omniasuite: App Store
All sources retrieved on 6 October 2026. Has something changed or is something missing? Let us know and we will correct it.